Padma Shri Awardees In Film Industry (1958-2017)

Film Industry Padma shri Awardees

Padma Shri Awards: The Indian Government instituted Padma shri Awards in 1954. The citizens of India who contribute the distinguished service in various spheres of activity deserve to receive ‘Padma award’. The service includes the Arts, Education, Industry, Literature, Science, Sports, Medicine, Social Service and Public Affairs. Film Industry Padma shri Awardees have a special recognition in the society.

On the head side of the medal, the words “Padma Shri”are there below a lotus flower.They appear in Devanagari script.’Padma Shri’ means Padma=lotus and Shri= Mr./Ms.( to address a person in respectable manner) appear in Devanagari script. The geometrical pattern is embossed in white gold on either side is in smooth and shiny bronze. It is in white gold.

Padma Shri‘ first  award was in  1954 and the last award was in 2017 .  So far, the total Padma Shri Awardees are 2913.

The selection committee takes all care to select the deserving persons for Padma shri awards. In spite of that, they at times have to face a criticism regarding the selection claiming that highly deserving artists are being left out in order to favor certain individuals. A person who is successful and admired for his/her service in the society is eligible for the award. It is awarded irrespective of race, occupation, position or sex .

Some of the Film Industry Padma shri Awardees are not only popular in movies but also successful in politics.

Padma shri Awardees are not supposed to use it as a suffix or prefix to the award winner’s name on letterheads, invitation cards, posters, books etc. Failing that the recipients  will have to forfeit the award.

Film Industry Padma shri Awardees


Film Industry Padma shri Awardees (1958-2000)

The following are Film Industry Padma shri Awardees who have extended their services for Indian cinema. And they also became successful with their excellent performance in the films .And also, the admiration by the film goers brought them the great honor.

Film Industry Padma shri Awardees State year
Nargis Maharashtra 1958
Devika Rani Karnataka 1958
Satyajit Ray West Bengal 1958
M. G. Ramachandran Tamil Nadu 1960
Ashok Kumar Maharashtra 1962
Mehboob Khan Maharashtra 1963
Chittor V. Nagaiah Tamil Nadu 1965
Mrinalini Sarabhai Gujarat 1965
Sivaji Ganesan Tamil Nadu 1966
Bhanumathi Ramakrishna Tamil Nadu 1966
Mohammed Rafi Punjab 1967
V.V Lakshmi Narasimha Rao Tamil Nadu 1967
Nikhil Banerjee West Bengal 1968
Sunil Dutt Maharashtra 1968
Akkineni Nageswara Rao Andhra Pradesh 1968
N. T. Rama Rao Andhra Pradesh 1968
Vyjayanthimala Tamil Nadu 1968
S. D. Burman West Bengal 1969
B. Saroja Devi Karnataka 1969
Balraj Sahni Punjab 1969
Gemini Ganesan Tamil Nadu 1970
Rajendra Kumar Maharashtra 1970
T. R. Mahalingam Tamil Nadu 1970
Pankaj Mullick West Bengal 1970
Relangi Venkata Ramaiah Andhra Pradesh 1970
G. Venkateswara Rao Andhra Pradesh 1970
Manna Dey Maharashtra 1971
Shanta Rao Karnataka 1971
Girija Devi Uttar Pradesh 1972
Bhimsen Joshi Maharashtra 1972
M. K. Radha Tamil Nadu 1972
Waheeda Rehman Maharashtra 1972
Suchitra Sen West Bengal 1972
Girish Karnad Karnataka 1974
Shriram Lagoo Maharashtra 1974
Nutan Maharashtra 1974
K. J. Yesudas Kerala 1975
Shyam Benegal Maharashtra 1976
Amitabh Bachchan Maharashtra 1984
Naseeruddin Shah Maharashtra 1985
K. Balachander Tamil Nadu 1987
Shabana Azmi Maharashtra 1988
Hema Malini Maharashtra 2000
A. R. Rahman Tamil Nadu 2000

Film Industry Padma shri Awardees (2001-2017)

Film Industry Padma shri Awardees State year
S. P. Balasubrahmanyam Tamil Nadu 2001
Mohanlal Kerala 2001
D. V. S. Raju Andhra Pradesh 2001
Thota Tharani Tamil Nadu 2001
Manorama Tamil Nadu 2002
Govind Nihalani Maharashtra 2002
Aamir Khan Maharashtra 2003
T. M. Soundararajan Tamil Nadu 2003
P. Bharathiraja Tamil Nadu 2004
Hariharan Maharashtra 2004
Anupam Kher Maharashtra 2004
K. S. Chithra Tamil Nadu 2005
Shah Rukh Khan Maharashtra 2005
Kavita Krishnamurthy Karnataka 2005
Shobana Kerala 2006
Pankaj Udhas Maharashtra 2006
Mohan Babu Andhra Pradesh 2007
Madhuri Dixit Maharashtra 2008
Aishwarya Rai Bachchan Maharashtra 2009
Brahmanandam Andhra Pradesh 2009
Devayani 2009
Helen Maharashtra 2009
Akshay Kumar Maharashtra 2009
Hridaynath Mangeshkar Maharashtra 2009
Udit Narayan Maharashtra 2009
Kumar Sanu Maharashtra 2009
Saif Ali Khan Maharashtra 2010
Rekha Maharashtra 2010
Kajol Maharashtra 2011
Girish Kasaravalli Karnataka 2011
Irrfan Khan Maharashtra 2011
Tabu Maharashtra 2011
Usha Uthup West Bengal 2011
Anup Jalota Maharashtra 2012
Priyadarshan Tamil Nadu 2012
Bapu Tamil Nadu 2013
Nana Patekar Maharashtra 2013
Ramesh Sippy Maharashtra 2013
Sridevi Maharashtra 2013
Vidya Balan Maharashtra 2014
Santosh Sivan Tamil Nadu 2014
Sanjay Leela Bhansali Maharashtra 2015
Ravindra Jain Maharashtra 2015
Kota Srinivasa Rao Andhra Pradesh 2015
Ajay Devgan Maharashtra 2016
S. S. Rajamouli Karnataka 2016
Kailash Kher Maharashtra 2017
Anuradha Paudwal Maharashtra 2017
Bharathi Vishnuvardhan Karnataka 2017


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *